Regulations And Penalties

What is the penalty for carrying a loaded concealed handgun in public without a license? 

Without a valid concealed carry license, carrying a firearm is a crime. Unlawful Use of Weapons first offense is a Class A Misdemeanor and a second or subsequent offense is a Class 3 Felony. Additionally, there are penalty enhancements for certain locations (for example on or within 1,000 feet of any school, public park, courthouse, public transportation facility, or residential public housing). Further, an Aggravated Unlawful Use of Weapons first offense is a Class 4 Felony and a second or subsequent offense is a Class 2 Felony.

 

What are the penalties for carrying a loaded, concealed handgun in a restricted place?

It depends. A licensee who carries in a restricted place is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation is a Class A misdemeanor. The State Police may suspend a license for up to 6 months for a second violation and must permanently revoke a license for 3 or more violations. In addition, a license holder convicted of carrying in a restricted place must pay a $150 fee to be deposited into the Mental Health Reporting Fund, plus any applicable court costs or fees.

 

How are concealed carry license holders allowed to use their guns? 

Concealed carry license holders must use their firearms in ways that are consistent with all local, state, and federal laws. Additionally, the Illinois Concealed Carry Law does not allow “open carry,” or the ability to carry the weapon in a manner such that it is visible to others.  Put differently, a “Concealed firearm” means a handgun carried on or about a person completely or mostly concealed from view of the public or on or about a person within a vehicle.

 

Are concealed carry licensees authorized to act as law enforcement officers if they witness a crime?

No. Concealed carry licensees that are not sworn law enforcement officers and must use their firearms only in ways that are consistent with all local, state, and federal laws.

A concealed carry license simply indicates that they have passed the necessary background checks and training to qualify to carry a loaded, concealed handgun in public – but does not allow them to use it to enforce laws or impose any demands or requests on other citizens.

Download the Handbook   Prohibit Concealed Carry Sign
Find us on Facebook   Follow us on Twitter   RSS Feed   Contact Us

E-Newsletter

Illinois Council Against Handgun Violence